Friday, January 29, 2016

Book Review: Enticing Violence by Theresa M. Jones


Book Info-
Title- Enticing Violence
Series- Empyrean Chronicles # 2
By- Theresa M. Jones
Genre- YA Fantasy
Publication Date- November 2nd

Blurb-
Lily and Alec are only pawns in a war much larger than they'd imagined.

Lily still wants to complete her mission: Avenge her parents. But when Lynn- the leader of the Rebels in Muircadia- is captured, and Rita- daughter to the evil Lord Nettles- is sentenced to death, it's up to Lily, Alec, and the very select few Fae they trust, to try to save them all before it's too late.

When all you do is fight for your life, how do you find time to live?
How do you love when hope is always slipping away?

Enticing Violence is the second book in The Empyrean Chronicles.

Links-

Review

MINOR SPOILERS
We start off with a little time skip after the end of Enchanted Revenge. It's a few months later after Lily's rescue and we are back with Lily and Alec in the Rebel group fighting to find and kill the Lily's tormentors. While I enjoyed this, I feel like we skipped all the PTSD that Lily should have had after the end of the first book. We skip right to where she's back on her feet fighting. Now I don't want to read all the torment she experiences trying to mentally and physically overcome her abuse but I do feel like she needed to overcome that at least a little considering all the torture they did to her. Seemed unrealistic and something that is skimmed over that bothered me.

I still enjoy Lily and Alec's relationship and them as characters. Lily is continues to be relatable and Alec is still a sweetie. I'm surprised they didn't try to train Lily to use her sylph powers more. She didn't learn to fly until about 2/3rds of the way in the book. Why hasn't she pushed to learn to fly right away? I know I would have. I still forget that Alec is ages older than Lily, especially when he doesn't really act like it. I would have liked to see him act older but he still just acts like a teenage boy to me. I do like the pop culture references but they seem a little odd for me now. They seem a bit random and forced. I hate to say that especially when I love the references. It just didn't seem to fit this story as much this time around since they stayed in Empyrean the entire time.

The new characters are interesting, I particularly liked Zach, Annie, and Dan. I always liked Rita. There had been more characters but they were so minor they weren't even given names or were mentioned once. I wonder if they were really necessary to the story at all. I feel that they could have been changed or merged with other characters to reduce minor characters and to make the existing ones more complex.

I liked the overall plot but it seemed one-tracked and simple. I like complex stories with subplots but if you like one-tracked plots, you'll enjoy this story. I'm especially glad we got to explore other parts of Empyrean and how it affects the other breeds of Fae. I enjoyed how we learn more about the other Fae and their back history of this world.

I struggled with the pacing more this time around. I really wanted to like it more but even though I read the entire story, I feel like not much happened. I didn't feel the story was as substantial as it could have been. The climax was almost great but the way it had been told seemed slow and felt like the bad guy could have striked them down in the amount of time the were figuring out their plan. I loved the idea, I just feel like it could have been executed more efficiently.

Again, I didn't love how the book ended. Don't get me wrong, I love the moment we were in, but I didn't love how it just ended there with too many loose ends. I would have liked to see them finish rescuing their other friend before it ended.

3.2 out of 5 rating for me!

(A copy was provided for an honest review. I was not compensated in any other way.)


Book Info-
Title- Enchanted Revenge
Series- Empyrean Chronicles # 1
By- Theresa M. Jones
Genre- YA Fantasy

Blurb-
When seventeen year old Lily finds her parents brutally murdered, leaving her broken and alone, she is determined to bring justice to the fairies responsible. Her quest leads her to infiltrate The Empyrean, the land of the Fae where terrifying creatures lurk in every shadow. But with a political rebellion mounting, bloody battles and foreign enemies stand in her way. Alec, a mysterious and secretive fairy, gradually becomes her guide and dear friend in the unfamiliar world, and restores her faith in love.

Disturbing secrets about her parent’s true identity are revealed, causing her to be more involved with the devastating fairy war than she can afford. Her vengeful mission becomes compromised and her growing romance with Alec wavers. She must conquer her fear of the unknown, ignore her grief, and overcome her growing list of enemies if she is to succeed in avenging her parents’ death. Or ever make it out alive.

Enchanted Revenge will appeal to fans of Jennifer L. Armentrout and Julie Kagawa.

Links-


About the Author-

Theresa M Jones is just a regular small town, Texas girl, who loves reading, writing and playing with tech gadgets. When she isn't at work fixing computers and the like, you can find her at home with her husband and two beautiful (and rambunctious) kiddos.

In her spare time- as if there ever was such a thing as "spare time" - she reads and reviews books on her book blog, and writes paranormal romance and fantasy romance novels.

Links-


No comments: