Book Review: Enchanted Revenge by Theresa M. Jones + Giveaway



Book Info-
Title- Enchanted Revenge
Series- Empyrean Chronicles # 1
By- Theresa M. Jones
Genre- YA Fantasy


Blurb-
When seventeen year old Lily finds her parents brutally murdered, leaving her broken and alone, she is determined to bring justice to the fairies responsible. Her quest leads her to infiltrate The Empyrean, the land of the Fae where terrifying creatures lurk in every shadow. But with a political rebellion mounting, bloody battles and foreign enemies stand in her way. Alec, a mysterious and secretive fairy, gradually becomes her guide and dear friend in the unfamiliar world, and restores her faith in love.

Disturbing secrets about her parent’s true identity are revealed, causing her to be more involved with the devastating fairy war than she can afford. Her vengeful mission becomes compromised and her growing romance with Alec wavers. She must conquer her fear of the unknown, ignore her grief, and overcome her growing list of enemies if she is to succeed in avenging her parents’ death. Or ever make it out alive.

Enchanted Revenge will appeal to fans of Jennifer L. Armentrout and Julie Kagawa.



Links-


Review

SPOILER-FREE

Oh boy! This story took me on a fun and imaginative ride. The beginning started just a tad slow but once we hit the inciting scene. 0.0;; My eyes nearly popped out of my head. The author sure knows how to write horror scenes. I loved every second of it. I don't usually read horror books but the tension in the horror scenes had me sitting on the edge of my seat.

The pacing could use some work. There were times I got bored and skimmed because the author was describing the world but because of this, I had no problems orienting myself in the world. I liked the bit of world building of the Fairy World or Empyrean in this story. Empyrean is a fascinating fantasy world and I liked that the author took some time into developing the world system. 
Overall, I found it a decent pace and setting that I didn't have issues moving along to the next scene.

The characters were interesting for the most part. Lily is a typical teenager that most readers can relate to but there were moments I wanted to knock her upside the head or asked why she didn't ask questions. Other times she would be sensible and even wise but those were mostly her learning to be quiet because she knew it would be futile to get some answers which I respect. The author writes Lily with a good voice where I can hear the teenager in her character. The pop culture and bookish references Lily made had me chuckling. She is a relatable and sympathetic heroine and I enjoyed watching her grow. 

I liked Alec too as a love interest although there isn't really a love at first sight but I also I didn't really see the romance build. I felt it sort of just happens and I went with it. I do think that could have been done better. Also I felt some of the characters lose their old formal way of speaking as I read. It seemed out of character for them, especially when they used teenage slang. I feel that it is ok for Alec but for a Fae who hasn't visited the Mortal Realm in awhile to use slang seemed odd when they spoke so formally before.

I found the ending not as satisfying as I had hoped. I wanted more but we are left with an open ending which clearly leads to a second book so be aware of that when you start this book.


Although slightly cliched in the romance and plot, I still enjoyed this story and would recommend it. The author takes the reader on an adventure that is comparable to The Iron Fey Series by Julie Kagawa. I can't say if it is comparable to Jennifer L. Armentrout as I have not yet read any of her Fey series.



3.7 out of 5 rating for me!


(A copy was provided for an honest review. I was not compensated in any other way.)


About the Author-
Theresa M Jones is just a regular small town, Texas girl, who loves reading, writing and playing with tech gadgets. When she isn't at work fixing computers and the like, you can find her at home with her husband and two beautiful (and rambunctious) kiddos.


In her spare time- as if there ever was such a thing as "spare time" - she reads and reviews books on her book blog, and writes paranormal romance and fantasy romance novels.


Links-


Buy link for book 2: http://www.amazon.com/Enticing-Violence-Empyrean-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B014PVKX1A/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8  (It is available for PREORDER on amazon already)


Giveaway

0 comments: