Friday, August 28, 2015

Book Review: The Frost Series by Liz DeJesus


First Frost
The Frost Series Book # 1
By-Liz DeJesus
Publication Date- June 22nd, 2015
Published By - Indie Gypsy

Fairytales aren’t real…yeah…that’s exactly what Bianca thought. She was wrong.

For generations, the Frost family has run the Museum of Magical and Rare Artifacts, handing down guardianship from mother to daughter, always keeping their secrets to “family only.”

Gathered within museum’s walls is a collection dedicated to the Grimm fairy tales and to the rare items the family has acquired: Cinderella’s glass slipper, Snow White’s poisoned apple, the evil queen’s magic mirror, Sleeping Beauty’s enchanted spinning wheel…

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Frost wants none of it, dreaming instead of a career in art or photography or…well, anything except working in the family’s museum. She knows the items in the glass display cases are fakes because, of course, magic doesn’t really exist.

She’s about to find out how wrong she is.


I was really excited to read this because I love fairy tales. Then again, who doesn't? I love retellings or spin offs so I couldn't wait to start this story. The story started off slow but there was a small point to learning about Bianca's every day life. Still I feel like it dragged on a bit and I was waiting for the inciting incident. Even though once that hit, the pacing still dragged. I feel all of that could have been condensed to speed up the pacing. 

Only once she transported into Everafter did things get more interesting. It's usually the case in Fantasy. I wish there was more world building in the story. It just seemed the typical Medieval times with horses and princes. Nothing new existed. I'd like to have seen a more unique outlook of this world in the story.

I did like the characters but I don't feel like they were used to their maximum capabilities. They were just there. I feel they could have all be more useful. Especially Ming. She ended up whining and crying which I understand but she couldn't suck it up and that bothered me. I don't like whiny characters. I liked Bianca but there were moments where I wanted to knock her upside the head but she was probably one of the better characters. Then again, she's a teenager so I shouldn't be surprised.

When Bianca found her father I expected him to be overprotective of her but found that he seemed to disappear during the story where he could have made things more funny or awkward between her and her love interest. My favorite character is Terrance. He's the one with the most common sense and has an interesting history. Frederick was just there for comedy relief but he was funny.

That said, I really did enjoy the story and how DeJesus wove the fairy tale elements in the story. I enjoyed DeJesus's humor in the stories and ended up chuckling aloud at some parts. The story seemed to be a smaller story arc that I wanted. I know something big happened but it didn't really feel like it as I read. I wanted a more monumental event to happen. I wanted the stakes raised. I feel like Bianca had it a little easy and would have liked to see her or her friends struggle a bit more in the climax. Still it's a satisfying arc but one I think could have been better in the right hands of an editor.

I enjoyed it but I don't think it quite lived up to the standards I expected from this story. Then again, I received an unedited arc so I hope that the stories only improve from this point forward.

3 out of 5 rating for me!

(A copy was provided for an honest review. I was not compensated in any other way.)

Glass Frost

The Frost Series Book # 2
By- Liz DeJesus
Publication Date- June 22nd, 2015

When joined together, Cinderella's slippers grant the wearer her heart's desire. But whose wish will be granted?

When Cinderella’s glass slipper is stolen, Queen Felicia sends her faithful steward Terrance to the real world to retrieve his love and witch-in-training, Bianca Frost. The power of the glass slipper, when paired with its mate, and in the wrong hands, could ruin the peace of Everafter. Bianca must gather every bit of magic she has learned in the past few weeks to find the slipper and protect her new love. Together, Bianca, Ming, Prince Ferdinand, and Terrance venture deep into the heart of Everafter to seek clues as to who has stolen the slipper and why. Along the way, they uncover what happened to the Seven Dwarves after Snow White married the prince, but also learn the awful risk of tampering with black magic and the high price that must be paid for magic, even when used for good.

Bianca and Terrance’s relationship is put to the test. Through the pain of suffering and loss, Bianca must determine if following her gallant boyfriend into his faraway world is in fact her heart's desire.


Shattered Frost
The Frost Series # 3
By- Liz DeJesus
Publication Date- August 15th, 2015

Bianca Frost and her BFF Ming Lee return to Everafter to attend the Winter Ball with their boyfriends, Terrance and Prince Ferdinand. They were looking forward to a short vacation, especially Bianca, who is being bullied at school. She is looking forward to the day when she can finally graduate from high school. But all is not cute hair and fancy shoes as a mysterious count sets his sights on Bianca at the ball. When Count Jonathan Bleu kidnaps Bianca and Ming, the pair must do everything in their power to escape his clutches. In this amazing adventure, Bianca and Ming find themselves traveling down a rabbit hole, where they have to survive the madness of Wonderland in order to make it back home to the men they love.

Bianca and Ming must travel to the Queen of Hearts’ labyrinth, find Bluebeard’s key and save Jack of Hearts before Bianca loses everything she holds dear.


About the Author-
Liz DeJesus was born on the tiny island of Puerto Rico.  She is a novelist and a poet. She has been writing for as long as she was capable of holding a pen. She is the author of the novel Nina (Blu Phi'er Publishing, October 2007), The Jackets (Arte Publico Press, March 2011) First Frost (Re-realeased through Indie Gypsy Summer 2015), Glass Frost (Re-released through Indie Gypsy Summer 2015), Shattered Frost (Indie Gypsy, Summer 2015) and Morgan (Indie Gypsy, July 2014). Her work has also appeared in Night Gypsy: Journey Into Darkness (Indie Gypsy, October 2012), Twice Upon a Time (Bearded Scribe Press, Winter 2015) and Someone Wicked (Smart Rhino Publications, Winter 2013).
Liz is currently working on a new novel and a comic book series titled Zombie Ever After (Emerald Star Comics, Fall 2014).

Social Media Links-

No comments: