Friday, April 24, 2015

Book Review: Aberrant Trilogy Boxed Set Book by Ruth Silver

(An ARC was provided by the author for an honest review. I was not compensated in any other way.)
Title- Aberrant Trilogy Boxed Set
By- Ruth Silver

Book One: Aberrant (#1 Amazon Bestseller!)
In the future dystopian society of Cabal, the government instills equality for all and offers its citizens the perfect system. There is food, shelter and jobs for everyone. The one requirement is to follow the rules without question, including the government's match in marriage and "The Day of the Chosen", a lottery that randomly selects families to conceive children as natural means hasn't existed in generations. Following her eighteenth birthday, Olivia Parker accepts her requirement to marry her childhood best friend, Joshua Warren, and is eager to start her work assignment and new life when it all comes abruptly to an end as she's arrested and thrown in prison. The only crime committed, her existence. Olivia is unlike the rest of the world born not from "The Day of the Chosen." The truth haunts the government and puts her life in grave danger as one simple fact would destroy the perfect system.

With Joshua's help, Olivia breaks free of prison and is forced on the run. Together they set out to find the promised rebel town in search of a new home and new life together. Their situation seems less than promising as they reach the town of Haven. New rules and customs must be adhered to in order to stay. Leaving would mean most certain death in the large expanse of the Gravelands. Times is running out as the government mounts an attack to destroy Olivia and bury her secret with her. Thrown into a world unlike their own, they must quickly adapt to survive.


The story started off decently but there are parts of this story that definitely reminded me of a few other YA novels I've read. I'm not going to make the comparisons but the parallels are there and some people may like or hate it. I'm fairly indifferent because the author does add her own twists to the story. The tone of the story is serious and the pacing is quick. I liked that a lot but I also felt like I was going no-where in the story because I didn't think every word was necessary to carry the story along.

The characters are ok, I don't really care about any of them. Mostly because they feel one-dimensional to me, especially Joshua. I couldn't like him as much as I wanted, he didn't prove himself to me at all. I like Olive well enough but she doesn't stand out on her own as a complex character.

I like the ending, I had actually been thrown off at the end which left me for wanting more. The story isn't quite realistic enough to be believable so don't go in expecting that.

3 out of 5 rating for me!

Book Two: Moirai
Olivia has been on the run from the government of Cabal since the marriage ceremony. Finally settling in and finding herself a place to call home in Shadow, Olivia and Joshua prepare for the uprising that they and the rebel alliance have been planning for months.

With new abilities and special talents from Mindonsiphan, Olivia learns she can do more than most ordinary eighteen year olds. Learning both to hide and perfect her skills will be one of the biggest challenges she'll be forced to face.

A constant rollercoaster of emotion and adventure await Olivia and Joshua as they embark on a journey to the rebel city of Torv, and what was once home, Genesis.


There is a time skip from the first book which is fine but the reader doesn't get to experience what the characters had done or what their capabilities are in Shadow during that time. All of a sudden the characters have mastered everything, in seven months....yeah I'm not sure I believe that.

I like Joshua and Olivia more here in this book because they do grow a tiny bit. Not too much. Not enough for me but I did notice it. I definitely like the addition of the other Shadow people but I never understood how many people were part of the group. I felt like there had been a huge lack of details and world building in this story which needed to immerse the reader.

I know I got some ARCs but the writing really needed some editing. Several rounds of it, because I feel like the writing had not only grammar errors but the story line and plot honestly could have been done in a better manner. I feel like these books could have been stronger if a few more pairs of eyes went through this before publishing.

2.7 out of 5 rating for me!

Book Three: Isaura
With Joshua’s recent disappearance, Olivia has little choice but to head into the dangerous Gravelands as the new government wrestles with fixing the damage to society. Joining forces with her estranged father and a girl from Haven, they go on a search-and-rescue mission to find Joshua and bring him back alive. If traveling through outlaw territory isn’t frightening enough, Olivia learns she has exposed her secret and is hunted by her allies.


So I mostly binge read this series in a few days but when I got to reading Isaura, I pretty much had been tired of reading this series. I think the writing made it hard for me to enjoy the story as much as I wanted. I had been rooting for the last book to be the best out of them all, and it probably was but I couldn't bring myself to completely finish it.

I got about a third in and ended up skimming it to the end which was actually decent. I could read the last third of the book and figure out what happened. Olivia improved a bit and so did Joshua as a whole but I think their story could have been summed up and squeezed into one or two books if done correctly. While the stories were fast paced, I felt like a lot of it added up to little or nothing in the story. I would have liked to see more meaningful scenes/plot devices that led to the climax or end.

Maybe one day if I had nothing better to do I would try to pick this book back up but I doubt that I will. The lead up to the climax just didn't interest me enough. Even though I invested time to read the first two books, I didn't feel compelled to follow through to the end. The stakes weren't really there for me in the third book to read the entire thing to get to the end.

2.3 out of 5 rating for me!

Author Bio-

Ruth Silver is the best-selling author of the Aberrant trilogy. With a passion for writing and a love of story-telling, Ruth is actively writing two series: Royal Reaper and Orenda. She also writes The Federal Agent Chronicles, an adult romance series under the name Ravyn Rayne for Blushing Books. Her interests include traveling, reading, and photography. Her favorite vacation destination is Australia. Ruth currently resides in Plainfield, Illinois.
Follow Ruth here-
Looking for a steamier read? Check her out here-

No comments: